The Seasons

 •  1 min. read  •  grade level: 11
The Jewish Rabbins divided the year into six seasons, and their arrangement prevails throughout the lands of Scripture even to the present day. The descendants of Ishmael, roaming a free and unconquered people in the deserts of Arabia, have continued circumcising their sons when thirteen years old, after the example of their great progenitor Ishmael, who was circumcised at that age (Gen. 17:2525And Ishmael his son was thirteen years old, when he was circumcised in the flesh of his foreskin. (Genesis 17:25)); they also observe the seasons, as is done generally in the east, according to the ancient order noted in Gen. 8:2222While the earth remaineth, seedtime and harvest, and cold and heat, and summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease. (Genesis 8:22). An uninterrupted continuance of the seasons is secured on Divine authority, so long as the "earth remaineth." The seasons commenced in the middle of the months.
First season or Harvest, from Abib to Sivan-April to June.
Second season or Summer, from Sivan to Ab-June to August.
Third season or Heat, from Ab to Tisri-August to October.
Fourth season or Seed-Time, from Tisri to Chisleu-October to December.
Fifth season or Winter, from Chisleu to Sebat-December to February.
Sixth season or Cold, from Sebat to Abib-February to April.