Answers to the Questions on Page 648

 •  1 min. read  •  grade level: 6
The first five books of the Old Testament are generally known as the Pentateuch, although the Jews call them the “Torah.”
The word is from the Greek, and means “five books.”
It was written by Moses. Critics and “would-be” wise men have sought to deny the authorship of Moses. We might add at this point that while Moses was the penman, he wrote as he was moved by the Holy Spirit. It is divinely given, although Moses was the instrument used to write it. There is abundant evidence that Moses wrote the Pentateuch, and we could refer to many scriptures in the New Testament where Moses’s name is directly connected with it. The Lord Jesus Himself so speaks:
“Moses  ... wrote of Me. But if ye believe not his writings.” John 5:46-4746For had ye believed Moses, ye would have believed me: for he wrote of me. 47But if ye believe not his writings, how shall ye believe my words? (John 5:46‑47). See also 2 Corinthians 3:1515But even unto this day, when Moses is read, the vail is upon their heart. (2 Corinthians 3:15), which is a standing proof of the truth of Scripture. The Jews zealously guard the “Torah” and it is read regularly in their synagogues; yet, while it speaks of the Lord Jesus, the “veil is upon their heart” and they fail to see Him in it.
The word Decalogue is of Greek origin, and means “ten words,” or the ten commandments. How blessed to know more than the Decalogue! “The law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ.” John 1:1717For the law was given by Moses, but grace and truth came by Jesus Christ. (John 1:17).